I’m feeling the need to eat clean for speed

By Kelly

4.40 Mile Hill run at 6am…78 degress and 82% humidity

My birthday week was great!! Loved every minute of it. This card that my friend Maribeth got me pretty much sums it up.

I also added a lot of unhealthy food to that recipe. I miserably failed at my plan for no weight gain. I weighed myself after my hot, sweaty, hill run this morning and I was up 1 1/2 pounds. That is ridiculous.

My concern with any weight gain is not all about how I look, but more how it is going to affect my running. Today I felt super slow and sluggish. Some of that I can attribute to the hot, humid weather but not all of it.

My PR half was when I was at my lightest and was strict about eating clean. So does my weight really affect my running speed significantly? I have read that on average for every pound you lose you run 2 seconds faster per mile. If I could lose 10 pounds that would be 20 seconds faster which is significant because I will be running 26.2 miles on October 28.

My plan is to follow the Eat to Live diet 90% of the time (with some added lean protein). I am going to try this for a week and see how I feel, hopefully it will get rid of the 1 1/2 pounds I put on in a week and I can motivate myself to continue eating healthy for the next 14 weeks.

by Sue

Monday: 6 treadmill miles in 50:37 min.

Leave a Reply

