Finding my Inner Shalane

By Kelly

Thursday:  4.2 mile hill run at 6am with Ryan

Friday: 3 mile Treadmill run (entertained by Matt Lauer in London) and work out with my trainer Josh (arms and abs)

My runners world quote of the day Thursday morning…

“I will go through a lot of pain to beat someone.  If there’s pride and ego on the line, if I’m desperate, then I’m willing to go to a place where it hurts a lot more”  -Shalane Flanagan, U.S. Marathoner

Our 5 mile hill route is just that…hilly.   It is an incredibly challenging run for me because there are rolling hills the whole way and the last part of the run is a gradual uphill to our mailbox.   I usually feel good until about mile 3 1/2 and the last  1 1/2  miles just kill me.

On my Thursday morning run I was right around mile 3 going up a gradual quarter-mile hill and I started to hurt.   My hamstrings were screaming I wanted to be done and then I started to think about Shalane’s quote and wondering how does she keep herself going when she hurts?  Why is it so hard for me to do that?  Maybe it is because I was NOT an athlete growing up and I am not a competitive person.   I was never taught to push myself in sports to the point of pain and then keep on going.   So now I am in my 40’s and trying to teach myself that it is ok to hurt.   I need to keep on thinking about how I feel when I  finish a run and know that I pushed myself as hard as I could…it is indescribable.

I found a great new snack this week.  Very low-calorie and filling!!

 

 

By Sue

Thursday-6 mile treadmill run 50:18

Friday-4 mile treadmill run 33:07

 

Leave a Reply

