Progression to the Windy City

by Sue

Tuesday I took as a rest day since I was at work all day, then from there had to go straight to dance with the girls. Nothing like having two solid hours to catch up on some reading:

20120802-111140.jpg
Kelly, I see your husband is on the cover of September’s issue of Runner’s World again.

I cannot believe it’s August already. This summer has flown by. There are so many things I want to do before school starts in 3 weeks. And if school starts in 3 weeks, that means the Chicago Half is in 5 weeks! Somehow that one has slid under the radar. I would LOVE to PR this race, especially since my first half was my best and I just can’t seem to get under that time. I read about what other runners have said about progression runs and decided to try it with the goal of improving my speed/endurance. I’ve made it a habit for all of my shorter (4-6 mile) treadmill runs for the past couple months. I run the first mile at a comfortable pace for me, then gradually increase my speed for each subsequent mile. The last two miles I try to make a considerable increase in speed and maintain that til the end. Those last two can be pretty brutal! I feel like it’s making a difference for me. Will it pay off? I hope so! And, during one of these runs, if my time is spot-on, I can re-watch exactly one episode of Nip/Tuck on the iPad….thank you, Ryan Murphy, for being an absolute genius.

Wednesday: 6 treadmill miles in 49:55 and checked off on the list of things to do before school starts:

20120802-112545.jpg
Back-to-school haircuts times three.

Thursday: 6 treadmill miles in 49:51.

by Kelly

Wednesday: 6 mile run with the aforementioned cover model.

Thursday: Rest day.

Leave a Reply

