The (Not-So-Old) Lady Who Swallowed a Fly

by Sue

Friday: 4 treadmill miles in 32:04.

Saturday: In prep for this morning’s long run, Kelly told me she’d try to get Ryan to drink a couple of extra beers the night before. I suggested tequila instead.

A breakdown of the numbers:

  • 12 miles at 7am in 1:42
  • 80% humidity
  • The first 7 miles were decent.
  • The last 5 miles were not. I don’t know why the second half of this run was so rough for me, but it was just such a struggle. Was it the humidity? What I ate/didn’t eat? Who knows. All I know is I felt BAD. Like dizzy, legs numb kind of bad.
  • 5 “Let’s go, Shalane!”s from Ryan.
  • One unidentified insect, size large, swallowed or inhaled, I’m not exactly sure which.
  • Although appreciated, I lost count of the motivational and/or movie quotes from Ryan during the last 4 miles.
  • 1,082 times I thought to myself, I want to walk. Now.
  • 2 (wait….was that all?) unpublishable swear words by me.
  • One girl ready for a rest day Sunday.
  • .
    Saturday evening we had a "surprise" birthday party for my MIL. Orchestrated, almost entirely, by a 7 and 9 year old. We had the BEST pulled pork, baked beans, coleslaw, etc. from a local family's side business. The girls also made dessert and planned party games. Because what grandma's birthday party is complete without monkey face cupcakes and water balloons?

    20120805-153034.jpg
    Happy Birthday to my wonderful MIL….can you believe she is 69?

    Sunday: The girls made me promise to get them up to watch the women’s Olympic marathon.

    20120805-153354.jpg
    What an AMAZING effort and display of graciousness by these two ladies. So inspiring.

    34 total miles for the week.

    by Kelly

    11 mile run Saturday.

    Leave a Reply

    