Pop Goes the….

By Kelly

Calf….

I had high hopes for my 14 mile run on Sunday.     I started out before Ryan and Sue .  I was going to meet a friend at mile 2 and she was going to run the remaining 12 with me.   I saw Robyn ahead and then I felt a sharp pain in my calf.  I thought Ryan had thrown a rock at my calf.   Turned to look and he was nowhere in sight and all of a sudden it hurt to run…a lot.   I hobbled towards Robyn, got the typical “Suck it up Buttercup” from Ryan as he cruised by (although he did stop of a second to make sure I was ok).   I tried on and off to run, but just couldn’t do it.   Got about 3 miles in that day.

As soon as I got home I grabbed my compression socks (Thank you sister-in-law Susie)…

CEP Compression Calf Sleeves

and The Athlete’s Book of Home Remedies (Thank you Sue)

Self Diagnosis-a Calf strain and apply the usual running injury technique-R.I.C.E.  (rest, ice, compression, elevation)  So the rest of Sunday I stayed as much as possible on the couch and tried not to feel too sorry for myself .  I wish I knew what caused it but more importantly how to prevent a reoccurrence in the future.   As a runner who rarely deviates from her training program this is seriously stressing me out.

I did come across this article from Runners World – The 10 laws of Injury Prevention

http://www.runnersworld.com/article/0,7120,s6-241-285–13413-1-1X2X3X4X5-6,00.html

I will try to incorporate some of the author’s advice when I can run again.   For now I am focusing on cross training.

Monday  – 12 mile bike ride with Ryan and as long as I favored my other leg I felt ok.

Tuesday I was out-of-town for work so I attended a Body Pump Class with Pam.   It was a 60 minutes class that the founder Les Mills describes as “using THE REP EFFECT™ a breakthrough in resistance workout training. Focusing on low weight loads and high repetition movements, you’ll burn fat, gain strength and quickly produce lean body muscle conditioning.”  I loved the class and if we had it in our area I would go on a regular basis.   I am sore today.

Hopefully ready to run by the week-end.

Leave a Reply

