Labor Day Weekend

by Sue

Labor Day weekend….a semi-crazy long holiday weekend for Kelly and myself. We both had family in, and along with all the (lots of!) fun, does come a lot of work. Add the long run into the mix and we are exhausted.

Thursday: rest day.

Friday: 4 treadmill miles in 33:50.

Saturday: rest day.

Sunday long run: Pouring Down Rain. For 16 out of 18 miles. Had I been in a swimming pool, I would have been less wet. We must have looked completely insane, had anyone else actually been out to see us. 18 miserable miles with Ryan and his cousin Bud (I can’t remember what his real name is, but for the purpose of this post, let’s just refer to him as Ryan II….so now you have a basic idea of exactly what I was running with). We stayed together til the last 3 or 4 miles, then Ryan II took off ahead, while the original Ryan hung back with me, most likely because he felt sorry for me. I actually reached a point where I wanted to cry. Finished in 2:48.

I was definitely feeling the after effects of this one. Kelly suggested Vitamin I (for ibuprofen); I think Vitamin M (for morphine) would have been more effective. All joking and complaining aside, I really did try to keep in mind, once again, that no matter how bad it got, I am lucky enough to be able to do this.

20120905-080016.jpg
A great find….Simply Vera Wang at Kohl’s….and they so nicely cover up the foot damage incurred this weekend.

41 total miles for the week.

Leave a Reply

