I Credit the Cake

by Sue

Monday: 9 treadmill miles in 79:38

Tuesday: 4 treadmill miles in 34:25

Wednesday: 10 treadmill miles in 88:08

Thursday: Rest day.

Friday: Rest day.

My SIL was in town for the weekend and my MIL and I took her to the Backwoods Fest in Thornville, OH, about an hour away. It’s an awesome arts and crafts fest set in the woods. The outdoorsy, fall-like atmosphere is what makes it. Tons of cool stuff, tons of amazing food….no fair food here!

20120917-081115.jpg
We all had the vegetable soup cooked old-fashioned style in a giant kettle over a wood fire.

20120917-081234.jpg
One might say 5 bucks is a bit steep for a slice of pumpkin spice cake with whipped cream, but not when the piece is literally 1/4 of an entire cake. Hey….I had 20 miles on deck for the next day.

Got some early Xmas shopping done and this for me:

20120917-081600.jpg

Saturday long run: Although luckily it didn’t work out that way, originally I thought I was going to have to break this one up due to time and child care. So when I met Kelly (who thankfully biked while I ran so that I wouldn’t be devoid of all human contact) on the trail early, I didn’t have 20 miles in my mind, more like 14 now plus 6 later. The weather was cool and perfect, and despite being Ryan-less, I was feeling pretty good so I decided at about 13.5 that I was going to go for it just to be DONE. Since I hadn’t planned for it, no water and no fuel. But….20 almost-solo miles in 2:52! Not sure how I pulled that off, but I was SUPER excited about that pace and the fact that I felt GOOD!

Sunday: Rest day.

43 total miles for the week.

One thought on “I Credit the Cake

Leave a Reply

