Workouts and some favorite things

By Kelly

Workouts-

Wednesday-Work-out with Trainer Josh

Thursday-Tone it up DVD-(just got it and love it!)

Friday-Work out with Trainer Josh

Saturday-Bike 15+ miles on Trail & Tone it up DVD

It is rare that I am not signed up for a race.  One of the biggest reasons is because it keeps me following a training plan and therefore I don’t have to think too much about what my workouts are going to be each week.   Most of my typical training plans are 4 to 5 days of running, working out with my trainer 1 to 2 times a week, add in hiking with Ryan, walking the dogs and I usually have burned enough calories to allow me to maintain my weight without trying too hard.

With the Marine Corp Marathon on a year delay and a knee that is still preventing me from standing with my leg totally straight, I need to map out some workouts that will maintain a good level of cardio while allowing my body to heal properly.   Some thoughts are adding in more workouts with trainer Josh, spinning and maybe some yoga.   I have a huge fear  cutting back on my running, but I have an even greater fear of injuring myself even more.   Vacation is right around the corner, so I am going to spend some of my time in the air mapping out my workout schedule for when I get home.

My new favorite workout song…International Love by Pitbull (I know I am in my 40’s and should be listening to 80’s music but I love this song)

My new favorite t-shirt…

Ryan’s favorite saying to me while running.   I found it at the Chicago Half Marathon Expo.   How could I not get it?  It is made by Lift your Sole.  They have a lot of great running inspired items.   http://www.liftyoursole.com/

My new favorite read…

Finding Ultra: Rejecting Middle Age, Becoming One of the World's Fittest Men, and Discovering Myself

My SIL Susie recommended I read Finding Ultra by Rich Roll, I am only a few chapters in, but I love it so far.   She has incorporated his recommended “heart rate training” into her long runs.

My new favorite cookbook…

Bobby Flay's Mesa Grill Cookbook: Explosive Flavors from the Southwestern Kitchen

My favorite recipe in the book is Sophie’s Chopped Salad.   It has the most incredible dressing that is just a few simple clean ingredients.

My favorite thing about our neighborhood…

All the deer.   Although they do tend to eat some of our landscaping…they are so fun to watch.   Last night I came home and a fawn was curled up in the grass at the end of our driveway.   I didn’t want to scare him off so I opted not to take a picture, but I did capture this picture this afternoon.

That is six of the 10 I saw within a quarter-mile of our house.

Leave a Reply

