A Week-end in Madrid

Ryan is much like George Clooney in the movie Up in the Air.   He is on a constant quest to obtain enough airline miles.  This does come with a lot of great perks…upgrades to first class…club access.   So when he called about a month ago telling me we needed to go to Madrid for a long week-end to add to our current years airline miles, I was so excited.      Ryan went to school in Madrid, so he knows enough Spanish to get us around easily and can easily navigate the city and it is a great city to visit.

We stayed an amazing hotel,  The Westin Palace Madrid.

The dress was from a flea market that is every Sunday in Madrid called the Rastro.    I couldn’t try it on because we were at the Market with hundreds of people around, so I thought I would take a chance and buy it because it was $20.   I am so glad I did..love everything about it!

This is the first time I have not been really sad that I wasn’t going running 26.2 in two weeks, because I did not have to worry about a long run or what I was eating or drinking.   Which we seemed to do a lot of …of course we had to have Paella (mine was lobster and it was delicious)

La Paella Reina Restaurant in Madrid

Although I did not run at all in Spain that didn’t prevent me from carbo loading.   One of Ryan’s favorite food there was Bocadillo de Calamares (squid sandwiches)  and  the Bocadillo de Prosciutto.  They were a quick easy lunch to pick up while we were walking around.

But my favorite food was the pimientos asados (grilled peppers).

I did hit the gym a few times while Ryan ran and we walked 99% of the time, so I know I did burn some calories but I am sure not enough to offset the great Spanish food.

One of my favorite activities was getting taking a boat ride and having Ryan Row me around Retiro Park.  

It was a great week-end!   I hope to return soon!!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

