Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes….

By Kelly…

Workouts:

Sunday-Two mile walk with Ryan and the beasts; 2 mile treadmill 12.5 incline walk; 20 minute bike

Monday-3 mile treadmill run/Pure Barre DVD

Tuesday-60 minute spinning class

Wednesday-4 mile treadmill run/2 mile walk with Ryan and the beasts

Let’s start with the knees….I finally went to see a Sports Medicine Doctor about my knee.

Diagnosis-Runners Knee.   His thoughts are that the muscle pull in my calf while training for MCM caused me to alter my stride which then caused a knee injury.

Treatment-a prescription strength anti inflammatory ; incorporate in more cross training and wear one of these while I am running…

The Shock Doctor Knee Compression Sleeve.    Surprisingly it did not bother me at all while running.   If only LuLulemon sold one in pink.

His other recommendation is to do more cross training using the elliptical, spinning/biking and swimming.    If not feeling great before Cap City Half Marathon training starts, he will give me a shot of cortisone.    I can’t remember the last time I didn’t have knee paid after running, but I have felt great today after my 4 miles!

Now on to my headI need to get my head back in the game.   I have spent the last 3 months trying to self-heal, and babying myself because I feared another injury.   Although training will not start until after the first of the year, now is the time to focus on getting my body and mind ready to PR the Cap City half marathon in May.  As Ryan tells me time and time again,  not believing in my running ability is the biggest thing holding me back.    I need to remember this…

“Mental will is a muscle that needs exercise, just like the muscles of the body.”
-Lynn Jennings

Finally Shoulders and Toes –I spent an hour on Saturday working out at Pure Barre in Columbus.

 This is why my shoulders and toes hurt…

I have taken the class only twice before and I forgot how tough it is.   If you have a chance to attend a class it is well worth the price.  I was sore for two days after.   Although we don’t have a class close by I did get a DVD which I hope to incorporate into my training.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

