Picking up Speed

by Sue

This week I had to cram all my runs into five consecutive days because I wasn’t going to be home this weekend.

Treadmill + progression runs:

Monday: 12 miles in 1:44:08. This would be pretty close to my half time goal next month.
Tuesday: 8 miles in 67:30
Wednesday: 7 miles in 58:34
Thursday: 6 miles in 50:12
Friday: 6 miles in 50:05

I have been forcing myself to run the last mile in the 7:30 pace range. It has been hard but I feel like it’s making me stronger.

Basically my runs have been the reverse of the schedule. My weekends have been full of the girls’ activities, which has necessitated the long runs being completed at the beginning of the week. Hopefully that doesn’t throw things off too much. I gotta say, it’s really nice having that long run checked off the list early in the week.

My new favorite healthy treat:

20130406-114010.jpg
I found this recipe for Peanut Butter Protein Bites from Women’s Running on Pinterest. They are made with rolled oats, peanut butter, light agave syrup, chopped dates, unsweetened shredded coconut, chia seeds, and chocolate chips. I used dark chocolate chips and accidentally bought the larger ones, which was all the better. Each is 142 calories and 6.7 grams of fat.

So, I will be missing the second Scioto Miles Training Series race tomorrow. Kelly is going to rock the 15K!

39 miles total for the week.

Leave a Reply

