And the Heat Goes On

by Sue

Is it wrong that it’s barely July and I’m wishing for fall temperatures already?

Week #2 of marathon training

20130712-085041.jpg

My running schedule is all out of whack this week. When you’re running five days a week, going out of town–even for a couple of days–can make it a challenge to fit all those runs in.

Monday: Here we go again with the tempo run. On the schedule today:
2M WU
4M @8:00
2M CD

My tempo splits: 8:06, 8:08, 8:14, 8:13

Over pace again. NOT ideal for a numbers-obsessed individual like myself; but considering that it felt like I was breathing through soup out there, I will take it. I slowed my WU and CD miles a little bit this time, and it really made a difference.

20130712-085550.jpg
The Instagram filter so nicely removed the beet-red color of my face. And turned me into a mannequin. Or someone who is in need of a blood transfusion.

8 miles in 1:09:39

This humidity is doing NOTHING for my self-confidence.

Wednesday: Also known as Developing Mental Toughness Day. So, due to travel this weekend, my long run was scheduled for today. And I knew going in that it was going to have to be done on the treadmill. But really I’m ok with that. The treadmill and I are friends. I feel very comfortable on it. I just put on some Netflix and zoned. For a really, really long time.

20130712-090319.jpg
Yep, 15 treadmill miles in 2:23:05 (9:30+ GP). Not my personal treadmill distance record, but pretty darn close.

Thursday: 5 recovery treadmill miles in 50:03 (10:00+ GP)

Friday: 5 treadmill miles in 46:17 (9:15+ GP)

Sunday: 4 easy treadmill miles in 38:11

I made this this week–a delicious, clean-eating, protein-packed recipe suggested by Amanda:

20130712-094954.jpg
Clean Eating Cheesy Chicken Quinoa Vegetable Casserole

It was soooo good! Comfort food with none of the guilt. The picture doesn’t exactly do it justice. Or maybe I’m just a bad photographer. In the words of my 8-year-old….”it looks disgusting but it’s actually really good!”

The reason we traveled out of town this weekend was to celebrate my sister-in-law and brother-in-law’s 25th wedding anniversary.

20130714-182937.jpg
Congrats Liz & Dave!

Some things are just worth rearranging the ol’ running schedule for. I really do say that in jest. But it’s easy for me to get so caught up in “the schedule” sometimes that I don’t always slow down and fully take in things like this. Because at the end of the day–training plan or no training plan–family is what matters most.

I will be spending the greater part of next week running off the approximately 10,000 calories I consumed in wedding cake. It was so pretty, and I should’ve taken a photo, but I was just too busy stuffing it in my face.

37 miles total for the week.

Leave a Reply

